RSF Scholars and Authors Named 2018 AAPSS Fellows

January 16, 2018

The American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) has named five social scientists who will be inducted into the Academy as Fellows in 2018. The new Fellows include Maria Cancian (University of Wisconsin­–Madison), a former RSF visiting scholar and co-editor of the RSF volume Changing Poverty, Changing Policies; Michael Hout (New York University), a former RSF visiting scholar and co-author of the RSF book Century of Difference; Jane Waldfogel (Columbia University), a former RSF visiting scholar and co-author of the RSF book Too Many Children Left Behind; and Hirokazu Yoshikawa (New York University), a current RSF trustee and co-author of the RSF book Cradle to Kindergarten.

Each year, AAPSS invites a small group of scholars and public servants to join the Academy as Fellows. Each fellowship is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the social sciences and is named after a distinguished scholar or civic leader who has contributed to the AAPSS Annals. Cancian will become the 2018 John Kenneth Galbraith Fellow, Hout will be the 2018 David Reisman Fellow, Waldfogel will be the 2018 Margaret Mead Fellow, and Yoshikawa will be the 2018 James S. Coleman Fellow. The 2018 cohort will join the Academy in May at the AAPSS annual gala dinner.

Read more about the Fellows of the Academy at the AAPSS site.


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.