Click here to view this message in a browser.

RSF Bulletin

RSF-Gates Foundation Pipeline Grants Awarded to Emerging Scholars

The Russell Sage Foundation (RSF), in partnership with the Economic Mobility and Opportunity program at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF) is pleased to announce eighteen awards in their Pipeline Grants Competition. Together, these research projects by emerging scholars represent a wide range of innovative research on economic mobility and access to opportunity in the United States. The RSF-Gates Pipeline Grants initiative is designed to support early- and mid-career tenure-track scholars who are underrepresented in the social sciences and to promote diversity broadly, including racial, ethnic, gender, disciplinary, institutional, and geographic diversity.

Following is the list of grant recipients with links to brief descriptions of their research projects.

  • Tolani Britton (University of California, Berkeley), for a study of whether having a same race/ethnicity high school guidance counselor increases the likelihood of college success.
  • Danielle Clealand (Florida International University), for a study of Blackness within the racially heterogeneous Latino community and the complex ways race and ethnicity overlap.
  • Molly Dondero (American University) and Claire Altman (University of Missouri), for a study of how U.S. immigration enforcement affects immigrants’ attachments to U.S. institutions.
  • Janeria Easley (Emory University) and Regina Baker (University of Pennsylvania), for the development of a holistic measure of how socioeconomic origin affects economic mobility.
  • Elan Hope (North Carolina State University), for a study of whether engaging in racial justice activism mitigates race-related stress among Black students.
  • Darrell Hudson (Washington University in St Louis) and Tina Sacks (University of California, Berkeley), for a study of the persistence of racial health disparities between upwardly mobile African Americans and whites.
  • Michael Lens (University of California, Los Angeles), for an investigation of the conditions under which Black neighborhoods either flourish or fail.
  • Aerika Loyd (University of California, Riverside), for a study of the relationship between stress and mental health among Black youth involved in the juvenile justice system.
  • Nayoung Rim (United States Naval Academy) and Bocar Ba (University of Pennsylvania), for a study of the impact of policing and criminal justice on families.
  • Ying Shi (Syracuse University) and John Singleton (University of Rochester), for a study of underrepresented students’ access to and gains from selective public high school education.
  • Fabiana Silva (University of Michigan), for a large-scale experiment to improve our understanding of "observed race"– or how people are racially classified by others.
  • Andria Smythe (Howard University), for a study of how recessions experienced during young adulthood affect future educational and labor market outcomes.
  • Lafleur Stephens-Dougan (Princeton University), for a study of how shared class interests could mitigate white opposition to affirmative action.
  • Samantha Teixeira and Rebekah Coley (Boston College), for a study of how redevelopment of public housing into mixed-income housing affects neighborhood disadvantage and income mobility.
  • Jermaine Toney (Rutgers University New Brunswick), for a study of the role parental wealth plays in income mobility.
  • Yamil Velez (Columbia University), for a study of the long-term effects of gentrification on urban politics.
  • Hannah Walker (Rutgers University New Brunswick), for a study of how collaboration between federal immigration enforcement and local law enforcement affects the socio-political attitudes of the Latinx population.
  • Ericka Weathers (Pennsylvania State University), for a study of the effects of habitual truancy on educational outcomes and whether effects differ for minority and socioeconomically disadvantaged students.

Read more about the Pipeline Grants Competition here.

Information about how to apply for the second round of the Pipeline Grants Competition will be posted on the RSF web site by early September 2020. Proposals will be due Monday, November 30, 2020.

Upcoming Funding Deadlines

View all funding deadlines and application guidelines.

Visiting Scholar, Journalist and Researcher Application Deadlines

RSF’s visiting scholar program, established over thirty years ago, is a unique opportunity for social scientists to pursue research projects that investigate essential questions on social, economic, and political life in the U.S. while in residence in New York City. The program fosters the exchange of ideas in a vibrant interdisciplinary environment and promotes collaborations between researchers. Applications are reviewed by outside experts; final selections are made by RSF trustees. Applications for the 2021-2022 academic year will be accepted until June 25, 2020.

View further information about the program, including eligibility requirements and application guidelines.

RSF is also accepting applications for visiting journalists and visiting researchers in residence at the foundation until May 1, 2020.

How to Apply for Funding at RSF: Grant Writing Webinar

The foundation will host a webinar on Tuesday, April 21, 2020, at 2:00 p.m. ET, focused on how to write and submit a proposal for our programs. We encourage all new and previous applicants to participate. Click here to register for the Grant Writing Seminar on April 21.

For more information on RSF’s grant making process, please visit our website to review our grant writing guidelines and view a 5-minute video on how to use our new grants management system.

New Editorial Board Members Named to RSF Journal

RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is pleased to welcome social scientists Toni Antonucci (Psychology, University of Michigan), Chinhui Juhn (Economics, University of Houston), and Christopher Wildeman (Public Policy and Sociology, Cornell University) to its editorial board, effective March 1, 2020. The journal’s editorial board is composed of a multidisciplinary group of eminent social scientists, and is responsible for general editorial oversight of the journal and approval of all journal issues.

Please click here to read more about the new editorial board members.

Click here to view the complete editorial board.

RSF Journal Call for Articles

RSF: The Russell Sage Journal of the Social Sciences is seeking article submissions for a new issue, Status: What Is It, and Why Does It Matter for Inequality? Edited by by Cecilia Ridgeway (Stanford University) and Hazel Rose Markus (Stanford University), this volume seeks to expand our understanding of the nature and significance of status as a form of inequality and illuminate the roles status plays in driving and maintaining inequalities in wealth, power, and well-being. The deadline for submissions is April 7, 2020.

Please click here for complete information about this call for articles.

Order RSF Books | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Subscribe to RSF Bulletin
Russell Sage Foundation | 112 East 64th Street, New York, NY 10065 | (212) 750-6000