Margaret Olivia Sage Scholars

Established in 2015, the Foundation's Margaret Olivia Sage Scholars program provides the opportunity for distinguished social scientists to spend brief periods in residence at the Russell Sage Foundation. The program is named in honor of RSF’s founder, Margaret Olivia Sage. Margaret Olivia Sage (MOS) Scholars are nominated and selected by the Foundation's Board of Trustees on the basis of their outstanding career accomplishments. While in residence at RSF, they pursue their own research and participate in the intellectual activities of the Foundation through mentoring the annual class of Visiting Scholars and advising the President and program officers about both new and ongoing research initiatives.

Robert M. Solow continues as the Foundation’s Robert K. Merton Scholar, a position he has held since 2001. The Merton Scholar recognizes the enduring contributions of an eminent scholar to the social sciences. Solow, Institute Professor Emeritus at M.I.T., was Nobel Laureate in Economics in 1987.

In addition, each year the Russell Sage Foundation selects a class of 16-17 Visiting Scholars based on external peer review of submitted applications.

Margaret Olivia Sage Scholars 2021–2022

Greg Duncan

Fall 2021

Distinguished Professor of Education at the University of California, Irvine

Learn more

Ira Katznelson

April 2022

Ruggles Professor of Political Science and History, Columbia University

Learn more

Marta Tienda

Fall 2021

Maurice P. During ’22 Professor in Demographic Studies, Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs, Princeton University

Learn more

Mary Waters

January and May 2022

PVK Professor of Arts and Sciences and the John L. Loeb Professor of Sociology, Harvard University

Learn more


Learn More aboutMargaret Olivia Sage Scholars


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.