Who We Are

Board of Trustees

Jennifer Lee, Chair

Julian Clarence Levi Professor of Social Sciences, Columbia University

Jennifer Richeson, Vice-Chair

Philip R. Allen Professor of Psychology, Yale University

Marianne Bertrand

Chris P. Dialynas Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business

Sheldon Danziger

President, Russell Sage Foundation

James N. Druckman

Professor of Political Science at the University of Rochester

Jason Furman

Professor of the Practice of Economic Policy, Harvard Kennedy School

Michael Jones-Correa

President’s Distinguished Professor of Political Science, University of Pennsylvania

David Laibson

Robert I. Goldman Professor of Economics, Harvard University

David Leonhardt

Senior Writer, The New York Times

Earl Lewis

Thomas C. Holt Distinguished University Professor, University of Michigan

Hazel Rose Markus

Davis-Brack Professor in the Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

Thomas J. Sugrue

Julius Silver Professor of Social and Cultural Analysis and History, New York University

Celeste Watkins-Hayes

Joan and Sanford Weill Dean, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, University of Michigan


Senior Staff

Sheldon Danziger, President (email)
Leana Chatrath, Foundation Secretary and Senior Program Officer (email)
David Haproff, Director of Communications (email)
Suzanne Nichols, Director of Publications
Patrick Valentine, Director of Operations (email)
Aixa Cintrón-Vélez, Program Director
James Wilson, Program Director (email)


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.