Announcing the RSF Visiting Scholar Class of 2020-2021

January 22, 2020

The Russell Sage Foundation is pleased to announce the selection of 12 Visiting Scholars for the 2020-2021 academic year. While in residence at RSF in New York City, they will pursue research and writing projects that reflect the foundation’s commitment to strengthening the social sciences and conducting research to “improve social and living conditions in the United States." Among the research topics of this multi-disciplinary group are immigration and immigrant integration, race and diversity, the politics of policy backlash, employers' labor practices, poverty and income inequality, gender inequality, and climate change and natural disaster recovery.

To read about each scholar’s project, please click the links below or visit the incoming scholars page on our website.

Scott Allard (University of Washington)
Douglas Almond (Columbia University)
Max Besbris (Rice University)
Jacob Faber (New York University)
Lori Flores (SUNY-Stony Brook University)
Diana Hernández (Columbia University)
Heather Hill (University of Washington)
Harry Holzer (Georgetown University)
Daniel Hopkins (University of Pennsylvania)
Mae Ngai (Columbia University)
Eric Patashnik (Brown University)
Kim Phillips-Fein (New York University)


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.