RSF-Affiliated Scholars Named 2024 AAPSS Fellows

March 14, 2024

L-R: Jason DeParle, Tracey Meares, Samuel L. Myers, Jr., Betsy Levy Paluck, Florencia Torche, Janelle Wong

The American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) has named eight social scientists who will be inducted into the Academy as fellows in 2024. The new fellows include Jason DeParle (The New York Times), an RSF research grant recipient; Tracey Meares (Yale University), an RSF visiting scholar, co-editor of RSF volume Legitimacy and Criminal Justice, and RSF research grant recipient; Samuel L. Myers, Jr. (University of Minnesota), a former RSF visiting scholar, co-editor of RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences issues “Plessy v. Ferguson and the Legacy of ‘Separate but Equal’ After 125 Years” and “The Fiftieth Anniversary of the Kerner Commission Report,” contributing author to RSF volumes Prosperity for All? and The Decline in Marriage Among African Americans, and RSF research grant recipient; Betsy Levy Paluck (Princeton University), a former RSF visiting scholar; Florencia Torche (Stanford University), a contributor to RSF journal issue “Disparate Effects of Disruptive Events on Children” and RSF research grant recipient; and Janelle Wong (University of Maryland), an RSF-Gates Pipeline Grants Competition mentor, author of RSF books Immigrants, Evangelicals, and Politics in an Era of Demographic Change and Asian American Political Participation, contributor to RSF volume Civic Hopes and Political Realities, and RSF research grant recipient.

Each year, AAPSS invites a small group of scholars and public servants to join the Academy as fellows. Each fellowship is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the social sciences and is named after a distinguished scholar or civic leader who has contributed to the AAPSS Annals. DeParle is the Roger Wilkins Fellow, Meares is the Thorsten Sellin Fellow, Myers is the Rebecca Blank Fellow, Paluck is the David Riesman Fellow, Torche is the Sara McLanahan Fellow, and Wong is the W.E.B Du Bois Fellow.

Read more about the 2024 AAPSS Fellows.


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.