RSF Trustees and Authors Elected to American Philosophical Society

May 7, 2018

RSF trustees Karen Cook (Stanford University) and Shelley Taylor (UCLA) and RSF author Margaret Levi (Stanford University) were elected to the American Philosophical Societyat the members’ spring 2018 meeting. Membership of the American Philosophical Society is an elected body of top scholars from a wide variety of academic disciplines.

Karen Cook is the Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology and the founding director for the Institute for Research in the Social Sciences at Stanford University. She conducts research on social interaction, social networks, social exchange, and trust and is the co-editor of a number of books in the RSF Series on Trust

Shelley Taylor is Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Los Angeles and a member of RSF’s Biology and Social Scienceworking group. She is a leading scholar of social cognition and health psychology and the recipient of the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association.

Margaret Levi is the Sara Miller McCune Director at the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University. She is the is the co-editor of several books in the RSF Series on Trust. Her research investigates the conditions under which people come to believe their governments are legitimate and the consequences of those beliefs for compliance, consent, and the rule of law.

Read the announcement from the American Philosophical Society.


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.