RSF Trustees, Authors, and Visiting Scholars Named Members of AAAS

April 19, 2019

RSF trustees Kathryn Edin (Princeton University), Sara McLanahan (Princeton University), and Hirokazu Yoshikawa (New York University), grantee Samuel S. Bowles (Santa Fe Institute), and visiting scholar Peter Hall (Harvard University) have been named new members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. AAAS Fellows are selected annually and are leaders in academic disciplines, the arts, business, and public affairs.

Edin is the co-author (with Laura Lein) of the RSF book Making Ends Meet: How Single Mothers Survive Welfare and Low-Wage Work (1997). McLanahan is the recipient of multiple RSF research grants and has edited or contributed to multiple RSF publications, including most recently Children of the Great Recession (2016). Yoshikawa was a visiting scholar in 2008-2009, and is the co-author (with Ajay Chaudry) of the RSF book Cradle to Kindergarten: A New Plan to Combat Inequality (2017).  Bowles is a former member of RSF’s Behavioral Economics Roundtable, and is co-editor of the RSF-Princeton book Unequal Chances: Family Background and Economic Success (2005).  Peter A. Hall is a current visiting scholar, studying the social and economic policies implemented by governments that, in combination with the strategies deployed by firms, are used to foster economic growth.


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.