RSF-Gates Foundation Pipeline Grants Awarded to Emerging Scholars

March 11, 2020

The Russell Sage Foundation (RSF), in partnership with the Economic Mobility and Opportunity program at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF), is pleased to announce eighteen awards in their Pipeline Grants Competition.  Together, these research projects by emerging scholars represent a wide range of innovative research on economic mobility and access to opportunity in the United States. The RSF-Gates Pipeline Grants initiative is designed to support early- and mid-career tenure-track scholars who are underrepresented in the social sciences and to promote diversity broadly, including racial, ethnic, gender, disciplinary, institutional, and geographic diversity.

Following is the list of grant recipients with links to brief descriptions of their research projects.

Tolani Britton (University of California, Berkeley), for a study of whether
having a same race/ethnicity high school guidance counselor increases the
likelihood of college success.

Danielle Clealand (Florida International University), for a study of Blackness
within the racially heterogeneous Latino community and the complex ways race
and ethnicity overlap.

Molly Dondero (American University) and Claire Altman (University
of Missouri)
, for a study of how U.S. immigration enforcement affects
immigrants’ attachments to U.S. institutions.

Janeria Easley (Emory University) and Regina Baker (University
of Pennsylvania)
, for the development of a holistic measure of how socioeconomic origin affects economic mobility.

Elan Hope (North Carolina State University), for a study of whether engaging
in racial justice activism mitigates race-related stress among Black students.


Darrell Hudson (Washington University in St Louis) and Tina Sacks (University of California, Berkeley), for a study of the persistence of racial health disparities between upwardly mobile African Americans and whites.

Michael Lens (University of California, Los Angeles), for an investigation
of the conditions under which Black neighborhoods either flourish or fail.


Aerika Loyd (University of California, Riverside), for a study of the
relationship between stress and mental health among Black youth
involved in the juvenile justice system.

Nayoung Rim (United States Naval Academy) and Bocar Ba
(University of Pennsylvania)
, for a study of the impact of policing
and criminal justice on families.

Ying Shi (Syracuse University) and John Singleton (University
of Rochester)
, for a study of underrepresented students’ access to
and gains from selective public high school education.

Fabiana Silva (University of Michigan), for a large-scale experiment to
improve our understanding of "observed race"– or how people are racially
classified by others.

Andria Smythe (Howard University), for a study of how recessions experienced
during young adulthood affect future educational and labor market outcomes.


Lafleur Stephens-Dougan (Princeton University), for a study of how shared
class interests could mitigate white opposition to affirmative action.


Samantha Teixeira and Rebekah Coley (Boston College), for a study
of how redevelopment of public housing into mixed-income housing
affects neighborhood disadvantage and income mobility.

Jermaine Toney (Rutgers University New Brunswick), for a study of the role
parental wealth plays in income mobility.


Yamil Velez (Columbia University), for a study of the long-term effects of gentrification on urban politics.


Hannah Walker (Rutgers University New Brunswick), for a study of how collaboration between federal immigration enforcement and local law
enforcement affects the socio-political attitudes of the Latinx population.

Ericka Weathers (Pennsylvania State University), for a study of the effects of
habitual truancy on educational outcomes and whether effects differ for minority
and socioeconomically disadvantaged students.

Read more about the Pipeline Grants Competition here.

Information about how to apply for the second round of the Pipeline Grants Competition will be posted on the RSF web site by early September 2020. Proposals will be due Monday, November 4, 2020.


RSF: The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal of original empirical research articles by both established and emerging scholars.


The Russell Sage Foundation offers grants and positions in our Visiting Scholars program for research.


Join our mailing list for email updates.